Container Controls instead of pages

Hi All,

Bit new to all this. I have been reading and playing around and I have a couple questions:
Is it better to use one web page and a series of container controls that you embed/close as needed or should each “screen” of the app be an individual web page?

Any particular advantages / disadvantage with either direction?

I am expecting a lot of screens for this app so I am not sure what the best route to go here is.

Thanks!

Hi Kosh,

I am by no means an expert on this but from what I understand having lots of controls hidden and then shown on pages is likely to slow your app down significantly.

Dynamically adding and removing controls seems from what I gather to be the best route to go down.

You may to split test. I have a hunch that you may find webpages slightly faster. But nothing beats real life evaluation.

Our Webapplication has sometimes hundrets of containercontrols on one Page, highly nested in each other. The performance is okay, as long as your Server and your connection is fast.

Whats cools the performance down is, if you embed hundets of CC at the same time, then the DOM loading takes a few milliseconds. And also if you design your app to be sychronous, which means, that the frontend is freezing until the server is ready, then the loadingtime can increase.

I suggest you to have as little as possible synchronous processes, if you have a lot of calculation todo.

Otherwise I suggest you to have everything on one page, except of the login for security reasons.

@Rod Pascoe ~ Thanks…my question here is with dynamic controls how do you dynamically assign the logic, events, etc.?

@Michel Bujardet ~ Yep, agreed. :slight_smile: