Xojo hangs at copy files step of build automation

This is my first time trying to use an external C DLL. My test program builds fine (debug or release) when setting the Copy Files step to None. I have to manually copy the DLL file to the location of the exe file.

If I set the Copy Files step to Both, the IDE hangs at the Copy Files step. The IDE has to be ended in Task Manager. The exe file and supporting DLL’s are created but the C dll is not copied. The project folder is in my Documents folder so it should not be a UAC issue.

Hanging point when using Run button:

Files created before IDE hangs:

Hanging point when using Build button:

Files created before IDE hangs:

Copy File step location:

Xojo 2019r3.1
Windows 10 Pro ver 1903

Does anyone have any suggestions to troubleshoot or correct this?

Thank you.

Dennis

I put the jpg files on Imgur but they don’t seem to show up on the post. Any suggestions?
Dennis

It looks like imgur changed and doesn’t give you the direct URL as easily as before. You can right-click on each image and choose Copy URL to get it. Look like they now have an “i.” prefix:

https://i.imgur.com/DZlsi5E.jpg

Thanks,
That solved issue #1. Now onto issue #2?
Dennis

• Anti virus oftware blocking the copy, set up an exclusion for the IDE?
  • Try running the IDE as Administrator (right click the icon) just to confirm its not a UAC issue.

Update:
I’m using Malwarebytes and set up an exclusion for the Xojo IDE - no change
Ran IDE as admin - no change

As a possible workaround, I set the copy file step to none. I wrote a windows batch file to copy the dll to the release build folder. It works fine from a command window. I then wrote a script file to call the batch file. I get no error messages and the IDE hangs at the same point. The dll file is not copied.

The script file is

Var command As String
command = "copybuild.bat"
Var result As String
result = DoShellCommand(command)

Dennis

remove the copy file step and script