To wait or not to wait, that is the question....

So,

I’ve never used the web framework before, I came to Xojo last November and as there was already lots of buzz about the next framework I decided to wait.

However, now I’m at home all day I’ve completed my workload that was outstanding and am thinking about starting this project. It’s a project for a local non-profit and is taking an existing VB.net application that they have and moving it to the web.

The question that I have is this, if I was to start a project now using Framework 1 and designed pages with controls and the code behind them and then move it to Web 2 when it’s released what problems might I come across? What is the most time consuming issue that I am going to have? Should I wait or should I start now?

i choose to wait for api2 and new projects
and i made projects with api1.
rewrite a project from 1 to 2 is no fun and waste of time.
because your project is vb .net you think about asp .net webforms as solution?

[quote=481421:@Markus Rauch]i choose to wait for api2 and new projects
and i made projects with api1.
rewrite a project from 1 to 2 is no fun and waste of time.
because your project is vb .net you think about asp .net webforms as solution?[/quote]

Thanks Markus, good advice.

The project is a complete rewrite so language choice is personal preference.

From what I understand in Greg’s presentation, it will be possible to migrate current web projects to Web 2.00 when it becomes available, with the same kind of one way characteristic as API 2.00. Once the project is updated, it cannot be modified in versions previous to 2020R1.

But 2020R1 is not even in alpha yet, so you should not expect it right away.

Web projects have their own limitations, though, so moving a desktop app to Web has its own learning curve, irrelevant of the tool.

You may want to start experimenting with the current version, knowing that you will be able to move to Web 2.00 when available.