Xojo <---> Arduino ... pointers pls

I am fairly new to Xojo but have done a lot of Arduino, BBB and RPi programming.

I have a project where I’m working with OSX [Xojo IDE 2019r3.1] and want to do serial coms with an Arduino.

The Arduino, as you must know, is hugely popular in terms of being an easy to program and inexpensive introduction to microcontrollers.
As popular as the Arduino platform is [millions of users?] it absolutely boggles my mind Xojo doesn’t have a nice little page entitled:

“Simple Communications With Arduino Using Xojo”.
(1) Here’s how you identify the port it’s on.
(2) Here’s how you reliably send data back and forth to it [ … key word “reliably”]

[@Xojo IMHO uh … boat seriously missed here … and I have a feeling someone over there could prolly knock it out in a day]

Unfortunately a Google search [Arduino + Xojo] turns up precious little.

SO … any links, advice, code examples, projects, etc. anyone could point me to, would be HUGELY appreciated.

Thanks in advance! Cheers all,
Ken

Coming from my marine electronics background, I have found the NMEA0183 protocol to be a bit old but reliable for simple point to point communication. Have a look at this serial transfer library: https://github.com/PowerBroker2/SerialTransfer You could modify part of this code to run on the Xojo side. Any sort of packet-based message transfer protocol with a CRC/Checksum to verify the integrity should work. If we knew more about what you were attempting to do we could help guide you to the best method.

Other ways I have used in the past have been CANBus, RS485, and devices that support it, Ethernet/WIFI.

Right now I am using a Raspberry PI with MCP2517FD (CANBus) to communicate to an ESP32 (Has built-in CAN controller) for a fuel monitoring system on a big fishing vessel.

Hi Ken,