Best Practice for MySQL connection

I built a couple small desktop utilities that access a remote MariaDB connection. A window stays open and after an hour or two, I try to do something and an exception is fired because the connection has been dropped. What’s the best practice here. Currently when I open the window I open the connection and a list of data is displayed. Should I explicitly open/close the conn on each CRUD operation or …? It’s not a smooth user experience to timeout and then manually have to reconnect each time that happens.

1 Like

I am new to Xojo but have been programming for years. It sounds like MariaDB is timing out your connections. Before you use a connection you should always test the state to make sure it is still connected and in the proper state to run a query. If not programmatically close the connection and open another one with the same credentials. This way you always have a good connection when you want to use it, and you don’t pay the high re-connection penalty of closing and opening a connection for each transaction.

Just my 2 cents.

Well that what I’m doing - if there is no connection the exception fires. But when I try to programmatically reopen the connection, the window freezes.

for my postgres databases, I send a "select 1’ each 5 minutes or so using a timer.
but I would prefer to reconnect each time a query has been made.