Why is XOJO so slow?

Hello,

I’m a pretty novice programmer but I’m having an issue with Xojo. As soon as I add more than a few objects into my program it becomes PAINFULLY slow. I mean it’s slow to move objects, slow to switch between layout and coding, slow to select new objects. Everything. When I run my program everything runs smoothly and quickly but it’s while I’m trying to program that it’s incredibly slow. I can’t imagine how this is normal. I can’t imagine anyone actually using this program to make a living. I would go nuts. Does anyone have any ideas what might be causing this? My Macbook Pro is early 2015, 8Gb of RAM. I’m running MacOS 10.14.6.

It’s a known issue: <https://xojo.com/issue/56900>

Hello! Thanks for the reply!

I tried clicking on the feedback case you linked but it didn’t work. This issue has been plaguing me for a long time. Even back to the days of Real Studio. Is there no fix for this?

Not yet. This Issues State is VERIFIED, but this does not mean it will/can ever be fixed.

The issue is a new one. It’s also project specific because I don’t see this at all.

Troy, does this happen with a brand new project or an existing project?

As for the feedback issue, you’ll need to download and install the feedback app from http://feedback.xojo.com/newest/public/Feedback.dmg

It happens to every single project I work on. As soon as there’s more than a few objects everything slows to a crawl. Trying to place objects on my layout is painful. I move it, and then I have to wait several seconds for the change to appear. Even just simply scrolling around my screen is painful. Everything lags.

This has been an issue for me for a long time. Well before R2. This issue has been happening to me on more than one computer as well.

Do you use any special hardware, like USB screens?
Do you open multiple workspaces for the same project?