Need license key for realBasic, around 2008

Hi. I’m new to Xojo/realBASIC. I’m evaluating some third-party software and I need a license key for an old version of realBASIC. I think something around 2008r2 would likely work (but I’m not sure).

Can I get a 30 day eval license key for such an old version of realBASIC?

Thanks, --Marc Riehm.

Reach out to hello@xojo.com

You could buy a current license and try to port the project.

Today you get it with a 20% discount…

Perhaps if you can tell us more about why you think such an old version, we could give you better advice. If not, Tim’s post above has what you need.

Ah yes - Real Basic 2008.
Fond memories of it’s single file executable.

You should be able to load the project in the current version of Xojo.

What is specific to that older version ?

I think RB 2008 is still in demand because it can build a single file executable program (no external resources).

That format was quite … uh … interesting in how it achieved that. Lets just say that.
http://forums.realsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=22261&p=117761&hilit=single+file+executable#p117761

I’ll admit I’m guilty of using RB2008 long after it’s expiry date to distribute simple programs without all the hassles of multiple files.
Before that VB6 did the same thing.
These days I simply create a self extracting zip file which does the job. It’s a single file executable which extracts all the library and resource folders to a temporary folder then automatically runs the program.

Only because the VB runtime DLL’s were installed by default with Windows. On server Windows releases, you have to install the runtime librairies manually.

This is one reason MS recommends using an installer
It makes setting it up easy and removal similarly easy

I know its a hassle as a dev but it is simple for end users

That would not be necessary to evaluate Xojo.

[quote=465888:@Norman Palardy]This is one reason MS recommends using an installer