To Xojo or not to Xojo?

1. 2 weeks ago

That is the question.

I've been testing Xojo in a very limited way for a couple months now. Tried building various test apps both web & desktop to get a feel for how things work. In part I'm waiting for Web 2.0. I've been reading a lot - blogs and posts and what not. Seems like Xojo is in a bit of an existential crisis these days - or at least many or most of it's long time expert developers are. And the main point of contention seems to be the renaming of events in API 2.0. Why on Earth wouldn't Xojo put out this fire and allow both old and new event names to coexist somehow? As a potential customer it affects me directly since I'll need some (or perhaps, many) of those add-ons. Add the third-party providers seem to be holding off on moving to API 2.0. This then becomes a big problem for me too. I can live with API 1.0 for any desktop stuff that I might do, but mostly I'm doing database web apps. The bottom line for me is, Xojo looks interesting, but I'm pretty-much on hold. Web 2.0 and third-party tools are a must. And right now, neither is happening. Xojo might wish to consider how alienating a huge part of its user-base is helpful. Seems counter-productive to me at least.

2. Thom M

Oct 30 Pre-Release Testers Greater Hartford Area, CT

They can coexist. The problem is backwards compatibility. It's basically impossible to support API 1 and API 2 in a single class. Deprecation warnings aside, the event names are the big problem. If I code a control to use the Open event - which I have to in order to remain backwards compatible - and a user of my control implements the Opening event, then my Open event will never fire and my control appears broken. I can't tell users to not use the Opening event because a) they won't listen and b) for new projects in 2019r2 and newer, the old event names are not even an option. There's also no way to detect this problem.