Comparing serial send to serial receive

Hello all,
I am REALLY new to XOJO, but I have been programming microcontollers in C for a few years so I do recognise some of the language.

Heres my project/app. I want to send the numbers 0 to 9 inclusive in ASCII to the serial port 100 times for a total payload of 1000 bytes plus a carriage return. I have a device at the end of the connection that will save those 1000 bytes and send them back to the project/app. I want to capture those bytes(all1000) and sense the carriage return, and compare them to the transmitted bytes and let me know if there is no match.

Basically a table comparison of sorts.

For example, if I send 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 and the remote sends back 1 2 4 5 7 8 9 0
Teh app should count the number of received bytes and issue a FAIL indicator, and the number of bytes received. I would also like to see the received bytes in a text area.

For you XOJO pros this is probably a piece of cake, but for this noob, not so much

Jim

Hi Jim,

all the info I am talking about here, and probably all the information you will find anywhere on this forum or the internet will only work with Xojo 19r1.1 or OLDER.

please excuse me if you have already tried some of the notes below, but other new users may also find the information useful.

in order to do any of this you need to first do many other things:-

search the computer for ports
select a port
configure baud, stop bits etc
open it and check if the system allowed that port to open correctly
if that is ok then you will need a routine to send the data, a routine to receive the data and a routine to parse the data and display it on screen.

this may sound a bit daunting at first sight, but in reality its a group of separate tiny project that all can be tested individually until they are all doing what you want and then they will work together.