Populate ComboBox with SQLite Data...?

I’m completely new to using databases with XOJO.

Using SQLite, I created a database within XOJO, saved it to the app folder. When opening the database in XOJO I created a new table named categories. In the column section I added a test list of VarChar columns, Colum 1/2/3/4/ etc

In Xojo I want to be able to populate a Combobox with the Category columns in the database. Can anybody offer some help.?

Are-you able to write into the data base ?

Issue a SQLSelect for the Category Column to get a RecordSet,
In a loop, read that RecordSet,
Add Each entry string into the ComboBox

Not asked:
And at ComboBox Change time, make a Search on the data base to get the Record who hold the ComboBox string in the Category Column,
Then, display the contents from the RecodSet.

Simple to think, takes a little time to (understand and) implement.

@Panayiotis Yianni — It should look like:

[code]//DB is your Database, Combo is your ComboBox object and CategoryName is the field name for each Category’s name

dim RS as RecordSet = DB.SQLSelect( “SELECT * FROM Categories” )

Combo.DeleteAllRows

while not RS.EOF
Combo.AddRow RS.Field( CategoryName ).StringValue
RS.MoveNext
wend[/code]

in the open event of the combobox, read your database and fill the combobox with your values using combobox.addrow method.

I’m going wrong somewhere.

In the ComboBox open event I have this

[code]dim db as new Database
db = rememberdb
dim RS as RecordSet = db.SQLSelect(“SELECT * FROM General”)
ComboBox_Categories.DeleteAllRows

While not RS.EOF
ComboBox_Categories.AddRow RS.Field(“Genereal”).StringValue
RS.MoveNext
Wend[/code]

@Panayiotis Yianni — The value for “RS.Field” seems wrong. It should be the name of the column you want, not the name of the table! (and anyway it has an extra “e” to spell General). And that applies even if you have a single column.

“Genereal” is a vlid field?

Just go through the samples in xojo, there are some about SQLite