64 bit release before graphics were revamped

I have a problem here. I bought the latest version of Xojo. The last version I had was 2014 v.2
The 2014 version of my software works great… I’ve been selling it for 6 years now.

Now, thanks to apple hell, I have to make my app 64 bit. However, Now most of my software does not run due to the restrictions applied to graphics. I cannot call to a graphics from a sub, I can create a function where canvas is a variable, I can’t use g=canvas.graphics.

So, my question:
Is there a previously released Xojo version, 64 bit but before the graphics stuff got all changed? I would love to get that :slight_smile:
Cheers,
Sean

No there isn’t/wasn’t… And while its a pain… you would be best off “fixing” you application to meet the new requirements.

WHile there are better ways to do it, this may get you moving quickly:

On window where you used to draw to MYCANVAS.graphics
Add a property called MYCANVAS_GRAPHICS of type graphics , and MYCANVAS_PIC of type picture
When the window opens, set MYCANVAS_PIC to be a NEW picture(MYCANVAS,WIDTH, MYCANVAS.HEIGHT)
Set MYCANVAS_GRAPHICS to be MYCANVAS_PIC.graphics

When you would have drawn into MYCANVAS.graphics, use MYCANVAS_GRAPHICS instead (just change . to _ )
Follow that with MYCANVAS.INVALIDATE

In the PAINT event of MYCANVAS, put g.drawpicture MYCANVAS_PIC,0,0

I think the change was on 2018 Release 3, so 2018 Release 2 should do that.

I have installed 2016 r4.1 and 2017r3, both can compile for 64 bits

Yes, it was: Deprecations — Xojo documentation

If you have a current license, you can download older versions from the archive.
But I would encourage you to rather take the stress of a redesign like suggested by Jeff. The graphics property had been deprecated for eons and using an old version would give you nothing more than an internal workaround for a long-lost OS feature (which you can rebuild as a custom solution quite easily) while losing all improvements of the last year.