Set background color to a label?

I don’t see a property for this?

Do I need to place the label on a rectangle to get a background color?

Are you talking about a Label or a WebLabel ?

You know, to make it easier to answer your questions, you should post in the Web channel, when it is about a Web project.

Okay. I thought since I was a Xojo beginner, Getting Started was the place to be.

I’m testing out both Windows Desktop & “Windows” web stuff.

But this one is for a desktop app.

Thanks

Did you read: Introduction to Programming Book ?
(the projects are in the zip archive).

I read it and I went through all the tutorials. The problem is the book does not explain a whole lot. Sometimes you would do an example and say “oh great, that was easy”. But with no underlying explanation why it works or that certain code words are actually Xojo “key” words, etc. It’s also not indexed and the TOC is just chapter headings. So, yeah, it useful, but not as useful as it might be (not even close). Furthermore, i can’t remember all the various features and examples in the book off the top of my head, as nice as that might be.

For DESKTOP, there is no background color for a label

for macOS you can put a canvas under the label to provide a background color, but this doesn’t seem to work for WIndows, as the Label is opaque regardless of the “transparent” property (which seems to have no purpose for any OS)

Ok, thanks. Seems like a severe limitation in something really basic. I’ll have to play around and see if I can find a work around. Although I suppose, thousands of Xojo users have already tried to do that.

Use a Canvas…

But Dave S. says that won’t work in Windows.

Instead of a Label…

Okay, thanks. I haven’t tried the Canvas out yet. I will explore.

A label in windows will use the background color from any parent control (or container/window) that has the option to set a fill/background color.