Mystery Runtime Error Dialog

Hello,

I have a rather simple program that has one thread that does a bunch of work with a timer controlling it. Within the thread I have some Try Catch statements to catch any runtime or exception errors that occur but they never trigger. The problem is that I keep getting this strange runtime error dialog:

Mystery Dialog

Any help on figuring out what this error means would be appreciated. I have been using Xojo for almost 20 years but have never seen one like this. The program will run for about 30 minutes then like clockwork this error comes up.

Thanks

It’s quite clever to make the image private. Please use imgur or similar instead.

oops. I didnt realize it was private. It should work now. Thanks

Xojo fails to create a thread. Strange.

If you can report a sample project with Feedback, they may able to fix it.

The last part of that error, a new thread was being requested. Without seeing your code, or a simplified version it is going to be hard to diagnose. Is your timer creating new threads? Is it runaway - ie: creating new threads each time until all resources are exhausted? Maybe whatever the timer is starting (method) isn’t completing before the timer fires again creating another method process.

So what the timer does basically is wait for a button to appear (this is a bot btw) and when it does it launches a new thread. Now before it launches the thread it turns itself off with ModeOff and also has a variable to indicate that the thread is running. When the thread finishes it deflags that variable and also turns the timer back on to ModeMultiple. I had to use that thread running on off flag as for some reason Xojo gives me an error that the thread does not exist when I try to use Thread.State to determine if its running or not. No idea why as I am creating a new thread with no problems. Never seen Xojo do that before either.

This works:

if BotsTurn = TRUE then
me.Mode = Timer.ModeOff
app.ThreadRunning = TRUE