In need of AppleEvent clarity

I’m a film editor and long-time RB/Xojo user who writes apps that help other film editors. I’ve nearly completed a Xojo app that uses the HandleAppleEvent event to facilitate communication with Final Cut Pro X. Apple has published a six step procedure to do so (https://developer.apple.com/library/archive/documentation/FinalCutProX/Conceptual/FinalCutProXWorkflowsGuide/Exporting/Exporting.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP40013781-CH3-SW21). The instructions are in the “Interaction Through Apple Events” section. If you successfully complete all six steps you win a prize from FCPX which is the XML file my app needs. I’ve been stuck on step 1 for several days. In step 1, FCPX sends an AE that describes an “asset” class object it’s preparing to send you, I receive the AE just fine and it appears to contain exactly what the instructions described. In turn, my app is supposed to do the following:

“The application is expected to create a placeholder asset object that represents the output of the share operation and to return an object specifier that Final Cut Pro X uses to reference the asset object in subsequent Apple events.”

The object specifier needs to contain an asset ID string and a document name. I have been unable to figure out how to create the “asset” object or return an object specifier of it. I’ve included the FCP .sdef dictionary which describes the “asset” class in my app, but I’m really stumped as to how to create one in Xojo. A big question I have is can this even be one with AppleEvents in Xojo or will I need to use AppleScript or some combination of both. I have MBS plugins, btw.

Any help getting unstuck is greatly appreciated. You can probably tell I have limited programming expertise… but I am a pretty good film editor :slight_smile:

P.S. Paul Lefebvre at Xojo kindly helped me post this project on the Hire a Developer board but I haven’t gotten any responses.

Many thanks.