500 Internal Server Error on DreamHost VPS

I’m accustomed to 500 Internal Server Error’s when neglecting to set the chmod 755 etc., but I’m new to DreamHost and can’t seem to get this going. Before I bang my head for another hour does anyone have experience with DreamHost’s VPS hosting of Web Apps?

I tried creating a simple TEST.cgi and it runs (simply python script). However no matter what I set the architecture to (x86 32-bit, x86 64-bit, etc) I get the same error.

Thanks for any tips!

They might not have a pre-requisite library installed on their service. Do you have console access or can you find the info out what they have installed via the working cgi, a phpinfo file or their faq?

See Linux Notes near the end of http://documentation.xojo.com/resources/system_requirements_for_current_version.html for more info, sorry I can’t help more, my linux usage is many many years old, someone who’s more up to speed on these things might be able to help, maybe ask in Targets>Linux ?

I’ll paste my progress in here in hopes it might serve as a good resource…

The DreamHost tech support sent me a line from their logs (which I unfortunately cannot access myself), which reads:

[error] [client 000.86.33.36] Can't use an undefined value as a symbol reference at update.cgi line 118.

@William Reynolds

I saw lately someone stating that their log file has always had theses errors but was not causing the 500 error

cannot find the post right now :confused:

[quote=445613:@William Reynolds]I’ll paste my progress in here in hopes it might serve as a good resource…

The DreamHost tech support sent me a line from their logs (which I unfortunately cannot access myself), which reads:

[error] [client 000.86.33.36] Can't use an undefined value as a symbol reference at update.cgi line 118.