Raspberry Pi HTMLViewer.statusChanged event is broken?

I was hoping to be able to pass some data out of the web page being displayed by using the statusChanged event, unfortunately this seems to be completely broken on the Pi? My testing shows that it fires only with empty values and only when you first mouse over the control and lots of times with more empty values when you select any text in the displayed page or mouse over any selected text. Never when you specifically tell it to window.status=“a test message for the status event” or something like that.

It APPEARS to me, though I am not a linux expert by any means, that the needed webkit libraries are now part of the default Raspian distribution. If I do a " apt-mark showauto | grep webkit” from the command line I see that it is installing the following:

libwebkit2gtk-4.0-37
libwebkitgtk-3.0-0

The second of which looks to fulfill all of Xojo’s requirements for the HTML viewer does it not?

<https://xojo.com/issue/56308>

The Web Page Title event does seem to work, so i am going to attempt to use that to send the data though, but that is going to do more filtering and limiting than the status. Really what I want is something akin to the xojoScript context class that can call into xojo code from javascript, or at least pass me some JSON data or something. As a matter of fact I am going to go and make a feature request for that right now.

I had to implement a websocket server in my app to avoid using these two events. But if there isn’t a standard way for an HTMLViewer to send arbitrary data to the surrounding Xojo app via an event, then it’s a big hole in things.

That ‘feature’ has was disabled a couple of years ago as a security risk.
You will need to the title changed event, but be aware that is limited to 4K data.
This post has more info.

[quote=444449:@John A Knight, Jr]That ‘feature’ has was disabled a couple of years ago as a security risk.