Adapting C++ execution order to Xojo

As I stated earlier, my current project partly depends on porting c++ code’s logic. That code’s methods constantly calls “this->{SomeMethod}” from inside a superclass’s instance of a method and then relies on variables having already been set up by the superclass(es) in the leaf class’s code, even in Constructors. For example, the superclass method invoke_build calls this->build in the middle of its execution, where each leaf class has its own implementation of build.

As Xojo’s inheritance logic is “replace” rather than “extend”, how can I adapt this logic without either A) putting all the code in each leaf class or B) winding up in an infinite loop as a result of a single mistake while calling “Super”?

Sorry for all these relatively basic questions, but I studied c/c++ at University over 15 years ago, so the rust has rust on it!

You should post the code.

It will be a lot easier to see what you are talking about.

“this” in Xojo is “Me”. If it calls itself, it is a classic recursion scheme.

Here’s the actual code from “invoke_build”

void invoke_build(Document *document, XMLNode repr, unsigned int cloned)
{
/
Bookkeeping */

this->document = document;
this->repr = repr;
this->cloned = cloned;

/* Invoke derived methods, if any */
this->build(document, repr);

if ( !cloned ) {

As a realistic example of the situation I’m (trying to) deal with say both invoke_build and build exist in “MyObject”, “MyItem” {SUPER MyObject] has an implementation of build as well, and “myLeaf” [SUPER MyItem] again has an implementation of build. MyLeaf’s build expects both MyObject’s and MyItem’s build’s to have been invoked in that order before its own build is invoked!

You can call Super.build to invoke the superclass’ method.

myLeaf.build implementation:
super.build
//myLeafCode

myItem.build Implenentation:
super.build
//myItemCode

myObject.build implementation:
//myObjectCode