Reading data from serial port

I have a OBDII (D-CAN) to USB cable that I have been using in Windows without any issues.
Following XOJO tutorial, in Serial1’s DataAvailable, I added this code:

MsgBox "Getting Data … "
TextArea1.AppendText(me.ReadAll)

I connected the cable to the car and executed the code. USB Serial port was listed and I hit the connect button. Nothing seems to happen after that. Since I am not seeing message box "Getting Data … ", I am assuming nothing is coming in because DataAvailable is not firing. Serial Port settings are correct (Bits per second 9600, Data bits 8, Parity None, Stop bits 1). I am a newbie. Please let me know if I am missing anything here. Appreciate your help.

Make your data readable instead of reading with a nil encoding (readAll default encoding)

TextArea1.Append( EncodeHex( me.ReadAll(Nil), True ) )

Also make sure you send the right data to it using the right data type (mostly will be binary -nil encoded string-)

And check the LastErrorCode of the serial port

[quote=433465:@Derk Jochems]Make your data readable instead of reading with a nil encoding (readAll default encoding)

TextArea1.Append( EncodeHex( me.ReadAll(Nil), True ) )

Also make sure you send the right data to it using the right data type (mostly will be binary -nil encoded string-)

And check the LastErrorCode of the serial port[/quote]

Thank you. I added this code in Connect/Disconnect button.
Dim svalue as Integer
svalue = Serial1.LastErrorCode
if svalue <> 0 then
MsgBox "Serial Port Error Code is " + Chr(svalue)
end if

MsgBox is not displayed. So I think it is ok. But DataAvailable event for Serial is not firing. I have MsgBox as the first statement for this event. It doesn’t show up.

Anybody ?

Can you elaborate what you mean by that statement?