Communications example not working in Mojave

I am new to Xojo and so I always try the examples first to help get an idea of how the software functions. I am particularly interested in building apps on the Mac to communicate with vintage test equipment which mostly use serial comms so the first app I tried was the Serial Port Bar Code Reader example as this is a basic way to see if there is comms between the HP34401A and the Mac.
Unfortunately I could get nothing back that made any sense, in that it would never see the CRLF even though they were present in the data stream. I checked the obvious such as baud rate, etc. and even ran a terminal program to check that there were no external problems. The HP was sending simple data at 9600,n,8,1 with no handshaking. and terminating each line with a CRLF as required. I checked the Serial Controller object and ensured that it too was set to 9600,n,8,1 with no handshake.
Before updating Xojo to the latest version (2019 R1) the program would run when pressing the Connect button but would never return any data. However since updating it now just gives the spinning ball of death and I have to force quit it along with Xojo.
Has anyone else seen this problem when running MacOS Mojave or any Mac OS?

Thanks

Is the example from 2019r1 (or older) ?

If older, try the version from 2019r1.

I have tried both versions of the example in both versions of the program. With the previous release of Xojo the example didn’t crash but also didn’t work. In the latest release 2019R1 it simply freezes and requires a force quit.