BEGINNER : Webhooks

First off I am a beginner, but I have general background knowledge (with gaps). I’m trying to understand where the gaps in my knowledge are so I can research the correct information. So here’s what I’m trying to do and maybe someone can point me in the right direction. If this not a good forum to ask these questions I would also appreciate if someone can direct me to a better website or forum.

I am currently trying to gain access to data from a website called “Teachable”. They don’t have a good API but instead have good webhooks. I’m trying to have a specific webhook give me access to a user’s information when they sign up for our course. I was hoping to have this webhook send me a JSON array, that I could then convert into a Python Dictionary (I’m using Python)… The issue is I’m having trouble figuring out how to connect this webhook in a way that I can use the data… And everyone seems to have a different solution…

When trying to set up the webhook Teachable asks for a “WebHook URL”… And this is where my understanding gets hazy… What is the simplest structure to get a webhook to give me access to it’s Data so I can begin writing software to manipulate the data?.. Do I need an AWS? Is there a way that I can just do it locally (until I have the software polished)? I currently have a functioning domain and my uncle said I should set up a subdomain for some reason? And if so i’m not exactly sure how to use that with a webhook… Basically, I’m lost… And I keep getting more and more complex answers. (I would like to avoid using third party software if possible)…

I’m trying to take this one step at a time, and I’m currently stuck here… Any guidance would be appreciated. Even if it is just directing me to resources I can study.

Thanks!

If you’re building this yourself, your endpoint will a page that you made on a public facing url, when the event is triggered, your site’s url will be called with the data.