Xojo doesn't find method in Windows plugin example

I’m looking to try and create a plugin for some C++ code with Xojo, being a noob I figured I would start small. Did some Googling and found that not much exists and what does is fragmented. I did purchase Eugene Dakin’s e-book (updated last in 2015) and while it did help a bit I could not get his simple “FirstPlugin” working.

I was able to create a dll using VS2017 and his instructions, I then stumbled as dropping the DLL into the Plugins directory isn’t what’s needed, after some more digging I found out how to package the DLL (PluginPackaging.rtf) as a xojo_plugin.

Now the sample Project for FirstPlugin can’t find the “AddTwo()” method from the example. Any thoughts on where to look next would be appreciated, there were no errors when I started Xojo but I guess it’s possible the plugin wasn’t loaded?

I’m running Xojo 2018r4 currently.

Thanks,
Mike

You could just make a dummy AddTwo function or your own…

Hi Mike,

I am away from my computer and will look at the example tonight to help you out. I hope to be at the computer in about 3 hours or so (6:00 pm mountain standard time).

Teaser: I am in the process of updating this book to Visual Studio 2017 and there have been many changes. This update will take some time.

Thanks for the feedback, I know things have changed since 2015. I was able to hack through and find where the VS2017 settings are (as opposed to VS2013) so I’m fairly sure that went ok. There has to be something I’ve missed in the process, I got the DLL created, added it to what I believe is a properly formatted zip (xojo_plugin) file and dropped it into the Plugins directory. Rechecked the naming in the example and that looks ok.

Hi Mike,

Glad to hear you are making progress. I am still working on it.

To try the dll, don’t worry about packaging a zip file, and just place the dll in the plugins folder in Xojo and restart the IDE to see if the AddTwo function works.