Clear Canvas -> Black Canvas

macOS Mojave Version: 10.14.2
Xojo 2018 Release 4
I have an app that is “older” in the sense that I have been working on and off on it for a couple years. So it has seen various versions of Xojo.
I have recently been re-jiggering canvases to embrace Group2D and Object2D.

I have code to clear the canvas. When I run that code I am expecting the canvas just to clear. But instead it becomes solid black.

Trying to understand this happening, I wrote a simple sample app with a single canvas. In the sample app, I use the same code. When I clear the canvas, it does what I expect: the canvas clears.

So I disassembled my original app, discarding all the pieces slowly trying to find out what was “different”. Finally, the original app was reduced to just a single window with a single canvas. But the behavior persisted. Running code to clear the canvas results in a solid black canvas.

Here is the code present in both applications. All the action takes place in the paint event of the canvas (cnLook)

cnLook: paint event

[code]If Self.bClear Then
g.ClearRect(0, 0, g.Width, g.Height)
Self.bClear = False
End If

If Self.bSquare Then
// g.DrawObject(Self.someShape, 100, 100)

Dim r As New RectShape
r.Width = 75
r.Height = 75
r.Border = 100
r.BorderColor = RGB(0, 0, 0) // black
r.FillColor = RGB(0, 127, 127) // teal
r.BorderWidth = 2.5

g.DrawObject(r, 100, 100)

Self.bSquare = False
End If[/code]

The window has two properties (Booleans)
bSquare
bClear

The window has two buttons with the Action code below.

pbClear: Action

Self.bClear = True Self.cnLook.Invalidate

pbDrawSquare: Action

Self.bSquare = True Self.cnLook.Invalidate

Canvas Setting are the default in both:

Appearance:
Visible, AutoDeactivate, Enabled, UseFocusRing All ON

Behavior
Accept Focus, AcceptTabs, Double Buffer: All these OFF
Transparent: ON