Random number generator, range ignored

Hello,

I’m trying to convert a python script into a xojo app(i’m not that good at python :frowning: ).

the function i need to convert is random.getrandbits(16)

I didn’t find a direct equivalent in the docs(random class has just a range option). What is the best way to create an equivalent? Do you have any examples i can work with?

I’m not sure if this is technically correct, but I’d use this:

Dim rand As New Random Dim r As Int16 = rand.InRange( -32768, 32767 )

Using Int16 should theoretically prevent you from getting non-16-bit values.

I think it should be 0, 65535

For what purpose will you be using these random bits? If they need to be cryptographically secure, you should use the Crypto module instead.

dim r as UInt16 = Crypto.GetRandomBytes( 2 ).UInt16Value( 0 )

I can’t find official documentation from Python that points to the proper implementation for the language but many languages (including C) center the range of a 16 bit integer over 0. C uses the range -32,767 to 32,767, some languages utilize -32,768 to 32,767 and some use 0 to 65,535.

In documentation for some third-party Python libraries (SciPy for example) indicate a 16 bit integer in Python uses the range -32768 to 32,767, but like I said, it really depends on what @Matteo Saitta needs.

As a rule of thumb, when dealing with bits, I prefer unsigned integers. It avoids surprises with the sign bit, especially when using regular math to perform bitwise operations.

Just my 2¢.

[quote=426976:@Kem Tekinay]As a rule of thumb, when dealing with bits, I prefer unsigned integers. It avoids surprises with the sign bit, especially when using regular math to perform bitwise operations.

Just my 2¢.[/quote]

Fair enough, I am inclined to agree with you, but just in case anyone is wondering it does appear the that Random.GetRandomBits() function in Python returns a signed integer of the given bit-length.