Deployment - Getting Discouraged

I’m getting really bummed at the seeming difficulty of getting my little web app hosted somewhere. I read that Xojo can spit out a CGI app and thought - “Oh, CGI - everyone supports that, right?”. After spending way too many hours trying to get it to work on my GoDaddy site, I ran across an old thread by Sam Rowlands that pretty conclusively says it won’t work because of a library that Xojo needs and that GoDaddy doesn’t offer in their low-cost hosting plans. I’m not forking out $50 a month for XC, sorry. 1701 doesn’t seem to offer hosting anymore. digitalocean is gone. Juicedhosting looks flaky and their own demo app is 404. All the search results I get on the topic seem to be five years old. Suggestions?

I am new to Xojo so keep that in mind. I’ve been a web developer for about 20 years though. XoJo needs a run time component to render web pages and that needs to be installed on a server. I’ve never encountered a budget web host willing to install specialized components. Not to say one doesn’t exist…

I’m curious about your comment about digital ocean. I use them for work and they’re fine (for typical linux hosting, not something like Xojo… ) - did they/ do they offer droplets for XoJo web apps?

Maybe you could ask the people at XoJo who they recommend for hosting… I’m sure they’d have some options for you.

I’m pretty sure they’ll recommend XojoCloud! :smiley:

Thanks for the heads-up re digitalocean - the link I’d tried was dead, but they do indeed seem to be alive and well.

Update… I don’t understand anything on the digitalocean site :frowning: Droplets, Kubernets, Spaces…?

Digital Ocean is a site geared towards developers and IT people who want to deploy OS/App infrastructure in the cloud. It’s very - very hands on. Imagine building your own linux operating system, setting it up, and maintaining that along with whatever apps you use. Backups, networking, all of that, is on the administrator – that’s you lol.