How to Create a Color Theme For Desktop App

Dear Friends, I hope you’re fine and doing great.

I’m new in using Xojo. My experience mostly lies in MS Visual Studio. I’ve been using VB.Net and C# but mostly VB.net that’s why I thought Xojo is an alternative framework for making cross platform desktop app.

I need to make at least a simple color theme for my Xojo Desktop App. Xojo Apps are native and they don’t look great on Windows that’s why I need a color theme for the entire app. Anybody who can give me a good start point is highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Can you elaborate a bit (what do you really want to do) ?

Each window have a background color property. You can set that color (the same for all windows) ?
(In that simple case, you can add an entry in your Preferences window)…

Thank you for your quick reply. But does this apply even to other controls like buttons, labels, etc?

I do not believe that: for window background only.

Excepted if you create your own (or use someone else) Controls, no color property for controls is provided.

You can read the documentation (http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/ListBox for example) to be sure.

Christian ?

Sorry.

Edit: added the PS below.

PS: usually, the user interface (Controls, window title/outline rectangle,…) keeps the original colors (Black or Grey outline, black window title area instead of green, red or any other color).

Okay Emile. Thanks for you advice. Let me get my hands dirty with some coding and I will quickly get back here to show the results.

Hi Ngabo,

The Xojo-built applications are still Win32, so you don’t have the ability to theme everything like you can with WinForms and WPF.