cubeSQLServer multiuser question

I’ve been using cubeSQLServer now for a few years with Xojo Web apps, mainly because its Admin console is a very convenient manager of backup schedules of my various Xojo Web apps’ SQLite files, and it comes free with unlimited connections with ServerWarp. I have a fundamental question about it.

When a SQLite file is hosted by cubeSQLServer, that file is still only going to allow one writer at any moment in time. So what does cubeSQLServer bring to the multiuser environment here that SQLite running in WAL Mode does not do alone?

Until now, each SQLite file of mine has been accessed by a single CGI app, so I guess that really hasn’t been a multiuser environment. But I’m now considering having a particular SQLite file (hosted by cubeSQLServer) being written to by two different CGI apps. So this would be a multiuser environment now, that supposedly cubeSQLServer makes okay. I just don’t see why SQLite in WAL Mode couldn’t do this itself.

Is this just a performance issue that cubeSQLServer solves, in a high concurrency rate situation? That’s all that seems to be at issue here: https://www.sqlite.org/whentouse.html.

I don’t see how potential corruption can be an issue that cubeSQLServer solves here, as SQLite itself won’t allow more than one writer at any moment in time.

Yes, if your database needs are predominantly writes, then cubeSQL might not be for you — as the writes are journaled one at a time.

My database usage is 95% reads, which CubeSQL can do in parallel and supports multiple CPUs (which Xojo cannot) and lots of RAM. Any large reads (pictures) I cache locally to a local SQLite file for faster access (wiping it on startup and shutdown) to speed up the server.