For..next / dynamic properties

Hello to all,

this might be a typical beginners question, but I can’t help myself.
I try to do something with For…Next loop.
As an example (for web app):
I have a changing number of different boxes and want to set (dynamically) the properties (values):

Number of boxes As Integer…

For i As Integer = 1 To NumberOfBoxes
Length[i] = 3.00
Width[i] = 3.00
Height[i] = 3.00
Next

How can I add the “counter” to the property so I have "Length1, Length2, Length3… in the end?
And this brings me to the next question:
Also… can I create (session) properties the same way (“on the fly”), as I do not know the number of boxes I need in advance?
I did something similar in a desktop app years ago (unfortunately stopped working on Xojo after that, but try to get into again…)

Or is it better to it with “Classes”? I just started learning about this…

Any help appreciated.
Thanks. Thomas

You need to use arrays for your variables. An array is like a list, with each item stored in a separate container referenced by index number. You create an array like this:

dim myLength() as double

This creates an empty array with no items. To add items, you use the append keyword:

myLength.append 3.00

Once an item has been added, you can refer to it by number. The first item is 0, the second is 1, the third 2, etc. You can use the ubound command to return the last item in the array so that you don’t try to access an item that isn’t there.

if ubound(myLength) is <= 3 then msgBox str(myLength(3))

If you know the exact number of items your array will need, you can define that during its definition:

dim myLength(numberOfBoxes-1) as double

Note that I subtracted one from numberOfBoxes since arrays are zero-based (they start at zero).

With that established, your code works (with a few adjustments)

For i As Integer = 1 To NumberOfBoxes Length(i) = 3.00 Next