OLE Error: -2147221005 - Invalid class string

I have an app that uses the MS Office plugin to automate Word. At my client it runs fine on Windows 7 but not Windows 10 - get the error above. Same version of Word on each computer (2016 Home & Office).

On my (virtual) Windows 10 system it runs fine as well, but I have Office 365, not Home & Office 2016. Is there some DLL that is needed to make this work on those machines?

32/64 bit mismatch between office DLL and your app?

I compiled it as both 32 and 64-bit but get the same error.

Hi Jay,

I have been using the plugin for many years and haven’t seen this problem…yet. I haven’t been looking for it and it may be an issue. Could you provide a simple program or a snippet of code that shows the issue where you get this error?

[quote=414475:@Jay Madren]I have an app that uses the MS Office plugin to automate Word. At my client it runs fine on Windows 7 but not Windows 10 - get the error above. Same version of Word on each computer (2016 Home & Office).

On my (virtual) Windows 10 system it runs fine as well, but I have Office 365, not Home & Office 2016. Is there some DLL that is needed to make this work on those machines?[/quote]

On that machine this would suggest that for some odd reason the Word OLE object is not accessible. You can test this by this one liner in the open event of a new desktop app:

dim o as new OLEObject("Word.Application")

I suspect you’ll get the same error. Now the question is why isn’t it accessible? Can this user actually run Word under their login?

Try giving your app elevation (admin rights, right click run as admin), this could be a UAC issue.

Is that doesnt work try to narrow down the call that causes the issue and see if that exists in the registry. If not, find which file it is and regsvr32 it. Failing all that, reinstall word on that machine.