Drawing Signature Onto Canvas (Windows Touchscreen)

I have been a Visual FoxPro programmer for many years, and new to Xojo and impressed with the product. We’re looking to migrate our VFP projects to Xojo over the next few years…a massive undertaking.

Question about drawing and canvases. I desire to create a simple area on a window to capture a signature on a Windows touchscreen device (i.e. Surface Tablet), or perhaps down the road on an iOS device. Can someone tell me how to accomplish this? I saw that MBS has a web plugin, but I want someone to be able to draw their signature on a Windows device, in a desktop app.

Thanks!

Take a look at File>New Project>Examples>Graphics and Multimedia>CanvasAreas and see if it helps?

Let us know if you have any more questions :slight_smile:

Julian - thank you for your reply! This is more or less what I’m looking for, however there is an issue with using that canvas control as a signature block. The more rapidly I drag my mouse, the more degraded the image appears. If I drag slowly, the drawing appears more fluid. I can’t seem to attach a screenshot of what I’m talking about to this thread :frowning:

Thanks!

If you go to https://imgbb.com/ then drop the image there, change the drop down to BBLinked then post the code here, it should work.

Here is is…thanks!

I just looked at that code… and must say… it is terrible for this type of situation.
give me an hour or two, and I think I can come up with something much better

ok… perhaps just a few minutes… .:slight_smile:

* add this property to the window

Public Property points(-1) as pair

* change mouseDOWN to this

points.append x:y
Self.Invalidate
Return True

change mouseDRAG to this

points.append x:y
Self.Invalidate

change PAINT to this

Dim i As Integer
If points.Ubound<1 Then Return
g.penwidth=5
g.ForeColor=Color.blue
For i=0 To points.Ubound-1
g.drawline points(i).Left,points(i).Right,points(i+1).Left,points(i+1).Right
Next i

Super smooth, no voids