Multiple webapps

1. ‹ Older
  2. 5 weeks ago

Thanks to all!
    I studied the "http://developer.xojo.com/userguide/web-app-deployment" several times.
    But now i understand much more better.

To Tim Hare: if i setup a CGI i have to configure the config.conf or i have to setup different folders on the Apache. Both is unknown to me.

All the documentation is not made for beginners.
    I.e.: "To start a stand-alone web app, you simply run the app from the command line or terminal." That is correct.
    But i don't want to start it in a terminal, i want to start it in a browser (there is no explanation why and how).
    I lost a lot of time and nervs to play around. Then i started it in my terminal (PC / Linux) nothing happens. So i started Putty, connected with my new VPS, entered "./Reichweitentest_Android" and nothing happened.
    After that step it works in the browser!!!
    I need "Xojo web apps" for dummies (and in my language) ! :-)

I close this thread as solved! Thanks!

3. Alberto D

Nov 2 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro

@Peter M Thanks to all!
    I studied the "http://developer.xojo.com/userguide/web-app-deployment" several times.
    But now i understand much more better.

To Tim Hare: if i setup a CGI i have to configure the config.conf or i have to setup different folders on the Apache. Both is unknown to me.

Look at the CGI Application section on that URL, it say:

On a properly configured web server, deploying a web app is as simple as using your SFTP client of choice to copy the entire web app folder’s contents to the cgi-bin folder (be sure to enable Binary mode for the transfer)

you don't need more than 1 cgi-bin configured on Apache, you need to put all your cgi-bin apps (and folders) on that cgi-bin on your server.

@Peter M All the documentation is not made for beginners.
    I.e.: "To start a stand-alone web app, you simply run the app from the command line or terminal." That is correct.