GUI Problems

I have used Raspberry Pi boards and Xojo on a Macintosh, but I am new to Xojo on Raspberry Pi.

None of the programs display correctly on my Pi, including the “Sample Applications”. The “Wiring Pi” application shows buttons that are not fully drawn and partial text.

Do I need to add Xojo fonts to my Raspberry Pi?

Have you tried the latest release, 2018r2? There are some fixes in there that might solve this.
https://www.xojo.com/download/

Otherwise, we’ll need more info to help you.

What version of Xojo?
What version of Raspbian or other OS are you running on your Pi?
And best of all, a screenshot would help.

I just tried 2018r2 with the same problem. The Pi is running Raspian Stretch Lite.

Sorry, I don’t know how to attach a screen shot.

Let’s try this:

This is the same problem that happens when you design a GUI application for Linux in Mac IDE (i think windows also).

The controls must be taller in Linux.

If you design it with Linux IDE you’ll see the controls are taller to avoid this problem. It comes from Realbasic times and not solved.

Depending Linux desktop’s theme (and desktop) used seems be affected in different grades. Don’t remember if you must give 7 px more (high) to these controls. Comboboxes are always affected. Try the minimum height you must increment to avoid this.

Note i’m telling this without test it in RPi, but looks the same problem that X86 Linux.

Yes, as Jose mentioned the controls will need to be adjusted (made bigger) when designing the application on Windows and then copied to the Raspberry Pi.

This is what I have had to do with Xojo 2018r1.1 with Raspberry Pi 3 B + with the Stretch OS.

But… This is the raspberry pi demo. Shouldn’t it work with raspberry pi? I didn’t change the size of anything.

Also wondering if there is a way of running a GUI without loading a desktop. This would be for an embedded application.

If I would run a Linux virtual machine on my Mac and run Xojo on it, would the interfaces match?