Possible to pass binaryStream to declare?

Is it possible to pass an open binary stream as a parameter for a declare? I have an extensive library of C routines that I compiled into a dynamically linked library. I am new to declares but have been able to accomplish most of what I have tried so far, however this file access issue has stumped me for several days now despite lots of searching online and trying different things. I have a lot of RB/Xojo experience, but not much with C, so I would prefer to use the library as-is if I can rather than modifying the library (I can modify it if necessary). The declare looks like this:

Soft Declare Sub seekloc Lib dylibLocation (fptr As Ptr, iseek As Integer, mseek As Integer, ByRef lskip As Integer, ByRef ldata As Integer)

The fptr parameter is supposed to be C type FILE, and looks like this in the source code for the library:

void seekloc(FILE *fptr,int iseek,int mseek,int *lskip,int *ldata)

I do not have a good understanding of C file IO routines and types. I have to open the stream and repeatedly call seekloc to read an arbitrary number of large structures from the file and process them one by one. The files can be huge.

Is there a way to do this or do I need to rewrite and/or add to the C library instead? I will be very grateful for any help. Thank you!

Don’t know much about declares. But wouldn’t a simple path be easier to transfer?

The BinaryStream.Handle method returns a platform-specific file handle that can be used with declares.

Thanks much to both of you.