Sessions & cookies

Hi there,

I’m new to web app. development and despite reading about sessions & cookies many times over, I still don’t understand how & why they are used in a web app.

Could someone please put both these aspects to be bed for me, finally?

Real world examples would be greatly appreciated - just to show why & how they are used.

Thank-you in advance.

Regards,
Darren

Typically there is one session per active user. This gives you a place to put properties whose values are specific to each individual user. Things like user ids or usernames so you can look up other values at runtime.

Cookies are used to provide data persistence between uses of your app. For instance, you could set a cookie containing the user’s username so that the next time they come to your web app, you could automatically set the username Field for them. The values of cookies are stored on the user’s computer.

[quote=395352:@Darren Logan]Hi there,

I’m new to web app. development and despite reading about sessions & cookies many times over, I still don’t understand how & why they are used in a web app.

Could someone please put both these aspects to be bed for me, finally?

Real world examples would be greatly appreciated - just to show why & how they are used.

Thank-you in advance.

Regards,
Darren[/quote]
Take a look here with full explanations for each sector about Cookies
Read the first page and after go to the TOP and jump to Creating cookies & SecurityTracking & privacy
With examples

Thanks guys, but a real-world scenario would be very useful.

How much data can you store in a cookie? Is it ~4kb?

Let’s say we have a test web app where the user selects his/her favourite foods & the app must remember the choices for future visits.
Is a cookie a good place to store this info.?
What makes us choose between storing data in a cookie rather, say, a database or txt file?