Questions on proper database usage / OOP.

I’m relatively new to Xojo, databases, and OOP in general. I’m creating a Windows Desktop app and using a SQLite database. I can connect to the database and create a recordset. Can also create and update records so far. What I’m not clear on is how to handle the database connection(s) and recordsets properly along the lines of OOP and database interactions in general. For example, I have just a single database and many different forms that will display/use various records. I’ll be creating new records, editing records, deleting records on the forms. Here are my questions:

1. Do I need to just connect to the database once in my application (connection remains active?) OR make a connection each time I need to perform a database CRUD task or to generate a recordset? Would I make a database connection when each form opens (Load)?
  2. Do I need to close the database connection and/or recordset after each CRUD task?

Thank you.

1. yes open once and close once (unless the database is remote)
  2. no

and use PREPARED STATEMENTS
and ALWAYS check error status after each operation

You might like to check out ARGen by Bkeeney Software https://bkeeney.com/allproducts/argen/argen-3-0-video/

It’s a huge time saver and gives you plenty of source code. A real joy to work with because it let’s you really concentrate on your own project.

Just my 2cents… Personally I think that one should learn how to do things (like SQL) the long-handed way first, and not rely on special tools from the git-go. Once you are familiar with how SQL works, what it can and cannot do, how it does what it does, then and only then should you include time-saving tools such as these. Its like teaching a child arithmetic by starting with a calculator.

One of the reasons I say this… is what do you do in the future if you need to program advanced SQL in an enviorment that doesn’t have these (or similar tools) and you have to actually “write code”.