Visual Studio as an IDE for XOJO

I’ve been using Realbasic/Xojo for over 10 years now and there are good things and bad things like all frameworks, languages, software.

One thing I come away with after all this time is that the XOJO IDE is not well suited for professional developers when compared to a product like Visual Studio.

10 years ago VS was an expensive windows only, limited language tool. A lot has change and it, along with VS code, is now a cross platform tool that support multiple languages. It also has the ability to support languages like XOJO. Why not leverage that to provide another option for professionals that use XOJO along with other languages? as an example look at how Xamarin works with VS and X-Code.

Very few languages are as tied to a single IDE as XOJO.

When I work in VS I get wonderful code completion and my mistakes are highlighted as I type them, before I run my project. When I want to add a few properties to a new method it takes no time. Change name of a property and have it update globally, no problem. Create projects to organize my code and allow easy sharing between projects. Integrated source control. The reality is I’m a 10X developer in VS as opposed to working in XOJO in many situations. This won’t be the case for beginners but the point of being a beginners is to have the opportunity to stick with a language and before an advanced user…at which point you require different things from the platform.

GUI design is a notable exception. I think that the XOJO IDE for window design is great.

Obvious requirements would be to create the language definitions for XOJO. Secondly would probably been the need to create a new project format with pure code files as well as sidecar files for the xojo project specific items. This stuff is pretty common in VS, look at how the .NET Razor pages work.