Pi/Xojo as a GUI for industrial instrumentation

Hi,

I’m new to xojo & have never touched a Pi, however I’d appreciate any upfront thoughts on the following:

It’s always a challenge writing a decent, graphical GUI for an embedded system. The GUI can take longer to develop than the actual instrumentation.

Small tft displays with some kind of 3rd party graphics library is the normal route, but it’s always a real chore.

Ideally, the GUI would be a tiny PC or Pi-like system, making the GUI much easier to develop.

How viable is a Pi option to act purely as a display, do you think?

As a basic example, let’s say we dedigned an instrument to measure temperature, but we wanted a cool GUI to go with it.
Typically you’d be able to display, chart & log the temperature, so the display would have a live chart, large fonts for the readings & a few different setup windows/pages.

The Pi would need to boot fairly quickly. No-one wants to power up an instrument & wait 5 minutes for the thing to boot!
It would also need to be illusive & not show that It’s a Pi! We don’t want a bunch of booting text showing on the display as it fires up.

I’m wondering if I could create such a system with Xojo & a Pi.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Thanks
Darren

did you look at the nextion displays ? they incorporate all the code to manage the user interface, so you can have a small device even an arduino that boots fast to do the rest of the job.

to answer the question, yes you can do what you ask, with a bit of work.
I did the same last year, BUT there are a few steps.

firstly you have to learn how linux works, which for me was a real chore, I hate the command line.
second it is possible to get ‘lite’ versions of the operating system that can boot quickly, I think mine was about 4 seconds from power on.
you can get rid of the boot messages with changes system config files.
you can interface easily with serial devices, both at native levels and with a USB converter.