Built-in Database

I am very new to Xojo (though not new to programming, as I have used both Clipper and MS Visual Basic quite extensively in the past) and so far have been highly impressed with the range of tools facilities it offers.
I have been working through the Introduction to Programming Manual and have just completed Chapter 12 covering the Address Book database. When I come to run the app I get the error message “No such table: address book”. My first reaction was that I have to have an external database (MS Access for example) but I noticed elsewhere that Xojo has a built-in database. Now I’m completely confused. I’m sure the explanation is quite simple but I’d really like some assistance here.

Xojo can access a large number of databases.
The simplest database to use in standalone desktop applications (ie without the need for a database server) is sqlite3, a database on file very popular also in the web and in opensource software.

You can declare two property (in main window o in a module, I use a module)
ex:
MYDB As SQLiteDatabase
MYDB_FILE AS FolderItem

The in maian window open event handle manage it. (Or call a moudule method, for example I use init_app as costum module method)
So in main_window Event open:

MYDB_FILE = SpecialFolder.ApplicationData.Child("{MYAPP_NAME}")
If MYDB_FILE <> Nil Then
MYDB = New SQLiteDatabase
MYDB.DatabaseFile = MYDB_FILE
If MYDB.CreateDatabaseFile Then
If MYDB.Connect Then
// create tables
// etc
End if
End if
Else
MsgBox(“cannot open DB file”)
End if

The SpecialFolder.ApplicationData is the Directory for the Data it depend by operation system.
For example on windows inside \Users\UserName\AppData\
Child("{MYAPP_NAME}") Is Your app Directory.
Inside this the database file is created.

This is an example of using SQLITE3 DB.

Thanks Michelangelo. Will try it in the morning and reply. Gives something to ponder.

[quote=380525:@Michelangelo Giacomelli]
If MYDB.CreateDatabaseFile Then
If MYDB.Connect Then[/quote]