3D platforms - OpenGL Vs DirectX?

1. 3 months ago

Neil B

Mar 23 Pre-Release Testers
    Edited 3 months ago

Hi,

I've been using SketchUp as a platform to develop an app that I'm selling. Unfortunately requiring my customers to install SketchUp for $700 is sometimes a deal breaker. I've been exploring other platforms and have ruled out Unity. I spent a few hours this week and did a proof of concept using C#/WPF (shown below). That doesn't seem like the right solution because it only has the ability to draw triangle meshes, no lines. I thought OpenGL might be an option, but I have no experience with it.

Does anyone here have experience with openGL? Would OpenGL be feasible for this? I looked at the Graphis>openGL>fluids example but have no idea where to start. How can I create a simple box model and implement orbit and zoom with mouse?

-image-

And the sample project (NOT XOJO - thats why i added the off topic tag)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/sn6rom6s1i8ym9j/3DTest.zip?raw=1

Well for this project anyway It's going to need to be windows only. I think WPF 3D will be the answer. It looks like lines need to be drawn as square tubes using 8 triangles per line segment.

-image-

2. Julian S

Mar 23 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro UK
    Edited 3 months ago

http://scispec.ca/index.php/books/31-program-opengl-32-bits-on-windows-and-osx
    and
    http://www.xojo3d.com/
    I've not tried either, just FYI :)

3. Neil B

Thanks.

It looks like that is what I need to get started.

4. Neil B

I think I've found my answer.

https://github.com/helix-toolkit/helix-toolkit

5. Sam R

Mar 23 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro Hengchun, Pingtung, Taiwan

I wouldn't recommend OpenGL for Apple platforms; Apple have very clearly defined that they don't want apps to use OpenGL on their systems, rather their own Metal & Metal 2 API. Metal is not currently supported within Xojo.

Personally; I would look for an x-plat 3D toolkit, you've ruled out Unity, but something like that basically.