Sending data to a web app

Hi all,

I’m brand new to xojo.

I’d like to design a system where multiple Windows clients (up to around 100) can communicate their string (JSON) data to a standalone xojo web app.

The clients will need to send between 10 & 200 bytes at roughly once every 10 seconds.

The web app will show all client data on the page.

My question is:
What methods can I use to get the clients data to the web app?
Server socket in the web app? Shared database?
I’d prefer a socket/tcp method to avoid the complexity of a dB.

Any pointers greatly appreciated!
Thanks
Darren

Here’s one option. In your web app use the App.HandleURL event to receive data from your Windows clients (essentially a Web Service). This data can be processed and stored somewhere, such as a file, although a simple SQLite DB would be better, I think.

Have the main page of the web app read the data and display it.

Your Windows clients can send data to the web service using the HTTPSocket class.

There are links to videos on this technique here:

http://developer.xojo.com/userguide/web-services

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the prompt reply.

I’ve been reading, reading & more reading - trying to find the answers but I seem to be going round in circles.
Words such as REST, API, SOCKETS etc. are spinning around in my head & I’m just not able to make a connection (pun intended).
The problem is I’m a desktop guy & have virtually no web experience. I’m also new to xojo.

You mention a dB above. Is that just for optional storage or a crucial part of the workings?
I have a reasonable amount of dB experience in .net but if this is optional then it can be left out for now.

The milestone for me is to get a number of client’s data into the xojo web app.
How the web app will handle the multiple incoming clients - I have no clue.

Is there an actual example of this type of system anywhere?