Questions about X3Core Library

I’m new to OpenGL, and have followed the Tutorials on www.xojo3d.com. I downloaded the X3Core Library and am using it to my satisfaction.
I found a few typos but they were easy to solve. Something more severe was: a scene on an iMac displayed completely mirrored compared to Windows. Thanks to the tutorials I was able to correct that too, so now both platforms show the same. I don’t think it’s a bug in the Library though. Did somebody notice this also and has any idea what’s causing this?

Until now I was not able to use a (semi)transparent Texture when using this Library. I know how to make a transparent Rectangle, but couldn’t detect a way to do the same with a Texture. Anybody…?

Joop, may I ask what you did to get the mirror issue on iMac fixed?

The place where you need to look is in the X3Texture.Constructor(texture As Picture) method.

The semi-transparent issue is due to the way that the texture is created from the picture data with the following instruction:

mb = texture.GetData(Picture.FormatBMP)

Since BMPs does not contain alpha data, this would be the problem.

Previously we got semi-transparency working by looping through each pixel and creating the texture manually (apposed to using GetData). This is however a very slow method for loading textures.

Unfortunately I don’t have time right now to dig into possible solutions for the semi-transparency issue, since I have a couple of important project launches coming up in the next few weeks.

If anyone else knows of a better way to load the textures into a format that OpenGL supports, while preserving the alpha values, I will happily update the existing code with the changes.

@Alwyn Bester
In X3Graphics class, method drawPicture I added the part before the #Else phrase. It’s the same code as after #Else, just changed the order.