Are you a "coder", "developer" or "engineer"

1. ‹ Older
  2. 4 months ago

Sam R

Mar 8 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro Hengchun, Pingtung, Taiwan

@ChristianSchmitz I am an Software Architect.

I personally don't agree with your title here; for it is my understanding that an Architect designs things, but never builds. You sir make things with your bare hands (unless you're one of those weird people who type while wearing gloves).

I recently decided that I am an "API Wrangler", for most of what I do is corralling API to work in a fashion that I desire, while not making the machine fall over, sure there's some designing, math and digital artwork creation.

I was going to say "API Cowboy", but where I grew up Cowboy means someone who does a poor job.

3. Andrew L

Mar 8 San Francisco, CA, USA

I think I'll call myself a codesmith. The hammer is my forehead and the anvil is the keyboard.

4. ronaldo f

Mar 8 Philippines

I believed I called my self an Artist. All my programs are my "masterpiece". :)

5. Markus W

Mar 9 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro #JeSuisHuman Germany, Heidelb...

@Andrew L I think I'll call myself a codesmith. The hammer is my forehead and the anvil is the keyboard.

-image-

6. Markus W

Mar 9 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro #JeSuisHuman Germany, Heidelb...

I'm a Scientist. Doesn't matter what I do, I always will be one.

7. Tim J

Mar 9 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro Phoenix, AZ USA (desication ce...
    Edited 4 months ago

There's still another -

Architect - Develops overall product direction and design. Uses whatever tool will get the job done to generate proof of concept applications. Works as a principle on the design team and as the main buffer between product management and engineering. Usually the team lead and senior member over engineers, developers and coders. In smaller organizations may be known to wear any or all of the other 3 hats AND act as lead QA and principle coffee maker.

8. Hong Z

is not verified Mar 9 Beijing China