Global monsters

I’m a hobbyist programmer who got started on a Commodore 64 back in the day. I’m also a teacher who writes program for classroom projects, etc. I tell you this so you’ll understand my lack of knowledge about modern programming.

Here’s my question: Why are globals evil? I told two young men yesterday my present project has about 100 global variables and they gasped. One of them told me, “Look up ‘singleton.’ That will help you.” I did that and, sad to say, I’m perhaps dumber now.

Here’s why I have so many global variables. My present project creates puzzles. The user – a teacher most likely – types in Questions, Answers, and a long Quotation from which the answers come. Each question is held in a global array, gQuestions(). The answers are in gAnswers(). And the quote is gQuotation. I used globals because I need to know the contents in various windows:
the editing window (in which the teacher types it in), the dictionary window (which helps crafts working answers), and the page layout window (which presents the finished puzzle). There are many other globals, most of them for the page layout (like width of blanks in the answers which the user can adjust, spacing between answers, etc.).

Why is this poor programming practice? I don’t know how else to do this that wouldn’t be clumsy. My two young friends told me the issue is you don’t know what’s going to mess with the globals but I just don’t get that. I control what utilizes them.

Sorry for the long post. I have tried understanding this and I know that some say spaghetti code is the monster that results from too many globals. But for me, the globals work fine. Is it worth it for me to learn other ways to control them?

Yes.

Each application is different, but from my 17 years of working in Xojo you’re doing it the old, non-class way of doing things. I’ve turned down (fixit) projects that use excessive global variables. The bigger the app the more likely it is to cause conflicts.