Mac OS File iteration

Hi, I’m new to Xojo and have been experimenting with it the last couple days. (Coming from C#/VB).

I’ve been reading up on the Xojo Docs. And have been experimenting with File management. (Deleting, Renaming, Moving, Opening, and Iterating through file and file directories). No reason in specific just trying to tinker with it. So Far I’m liking the platform.

I’m trying to iterate through Specific directories, However I can’t seem to use any other directory other than “Documents”. Any other directory throws an error.
I’ve also tried putting the directory in as a string format which also doesn’t work even when trying to use shellpath or Absolutepath;

using Xojo.io Dim f As FolderItem = ("/Users/Library") for each i as FolderItem in f.children Listbox1.AddRow i.name next

So I instead tried the following which also didn’t work:

using Xojo.io Dim f As FolderItem = SpecialFolder.Library for each i as FolderItem in f.children 'if i.IsFolder = false and i.IsVisible then Listbox1.AddRow i.name next

The only directory I can seem to get access to is Documents which seems to work flawlessly:

using Xojo.io Dim f As FolderItem = SpecialFolder.Documents for each i as FolderItem in f.children 'if i.IsFolder = false and i.IsVisible then Listbox1.AddRow i.name next

My last attempt that also did not work;

Dim f As FolderItem f = GetFolderItem("/Library/Application Support", FolderItem.PathTypeShell) for each i as FolderItem in f.child Listbox1.AddRow i.name next End If

Since Xojo isn’t as popular as other languages I can’t find much help other than this forum. Any help is appreciated. I’m just trying to learn as the language seems promising and has great potential. Thanks!

I think you can’t do like that. Try this instead

Dim f As FolderItem = SpecialFolder.Documents
For i as Integer = 1 to f.Count
    Listbox1.AddRow f.Child(i).DisplayName
next