How many plugins allowed?

I have recently acquired a Windows 10 machine and have installed Xojo 2017R3 in 64 bit. I am primarily a Mac developer so this is new for me.

I loaded a large app of mine into the Windows Xojo IDE and attempted to compile. It failed for a number of reasons and I have established that a number of plugins (from Einhuger) have not been loaded into the IDE and, therefore, the compilation is failing.

I have read in the forums about a limit of plugins that has never affected me in my Mac environment and I have been unable to find the threads here. So, I have a couple of questions from the Windows users.

1. How many plugins can be situated in the Plugins folder under Xojo for the Windows version?
  2. How do you manage the plugins for your apps?
  3. How can I tell which plugins are needed in my application?
  4. How can I see which plugins are actually loaded in the Xojo IDE?

I am sure that there will be other questions that will come from these but, at present, those are the pressing ones.

Thanks in advance.

Simon.

1. Depends. See blog post: Windows DLL Limits and Xojo 64-bit IDE
  2. copy the plugins on the
  3. When app is built with all plugins, look in Frameworks/libs folder to check what plugins are used.
  4. Check the plugins tab in about dialog.

@Christian Schmitz Thank you for the quick answers. The plugins tab on the About box is a great help, that confirmed what I had found.

Number 3 only works on my Mac - as I cannot build the app on my Windows machine that is not a lot of help!

I don’t understand your answer to number 2.

My issue is, therefore, now quite simple. I am used to my Mac loading all the plugins and I have never had to worry about which ones are actually used within my app. If I am building with Windows then I have to close Xojo, transfer the plugins I need to the Xojo plugins folder and restart Xojo? And I have to do this every time I open another project?

If that’s the case I think it is crazy!