MoveFileTo, failing at times

Hi,

I am new to Xojo. I have to move a number (around 100 to 300) of files stored in a folder to a set of subfolders (around 30 to 60) acording to a certain patern. The files are 250Mb or so in size and my code is the following:

// Move files to subfolders

For j = 1 To number_of_stacks

slice_counter = 0

For i = j To number_of_files Step number_of_stacks

slice_counter = slice_counter + 1

// move file 
source_file = new FolderItem(source_folder +"\" + Format(i, "000000") + ".tif", folderItem.PathTypeNative)

// to subfolder  
destination_file = new FolderItem (source_folder +"\" + Str(j) + "\"+ Str(slice_counter ) + ".tif", folderItem.PathTypeNative)

source_file.MoveFileTo(destination_file)

Next i

Next j

If I run the code on exactly the same set of files and subfolders repeated times, the result is the spected one 90% of the time but for an unknown reason, the 10% of the time a file fails to move into its corresponding subfolder.
I am really stuck with this, any Ideas?

Thanks for your help!!

Manuel

It might be a number of reasons, shadowcopy, virus checker, windows defender etc.

The documentation doesn’t say if MoveFileTo raises an error or not if it fails, however it does say that LastErrorCode is changed if an error occurs so I would suggest checking that after your MoveFileTo operation and see if/why it errors.

See the code at the bottom of :

https://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/FolderItem.LastErrorCode

I would system.debuglog that or you could have a lot of msgbox’s you need to close :wink:

Julian,

Today it seems to fail less often… Anyway, this is what I have found:

1. MoveFileTo don’t seem to throw an error when it fails
  2. destiny_file.LastErrorCode has always a value of 101 (the file was not found) no matter if the move to has been a success or a faliure.
  3. Luckly, Source_file.LastErrorCode takes a value of 104 (the file is in use) when the problem happens.

Obviously I could try something like:

Do