Chunks & MemoryBlocks - How to?

I’m trying to understand how Chunks works. It’s hard for me to understand.

So far, I’m reading text files via TextinputStream and then handing over their contents (lines) to a string array. Then I pass through the array and can parse the contents of each line. This works wonderfully as long as the text files are smaller than 150 MB, with larger files it will be difficult. The performance of the program then increases considerably (RAM utilization, etc.). I also have files that are 669 MB (millions of lines) in size. I can’t read them in this way, because then the RAM usage rises fast to 3-4 GByte. I have read about Chunks several times and that the use of MemoryBlocks is much better and faster. @Eugene Dakin also writes this in his book “I Wish I Knew How To… Use MemoryBlocks with Xojo”. I’m not a professional.

The structure of my files is schematic this:

Objects, recognizable by the fact that the line begins with a 0 (zero). The properties of the objects are then subordinate lines, each starting with a 1 (one). Each object can contain any number of properties. That’s why dividing up Chunks should be difficult, right? Because it could happen that the splitting happens in the middle of an object.

0 My First Object 1 Height=200 1 Width=400 1 Type=4 0 My Second Object 1 Type=2 ... etc.

How to use Chunks and MemoryBlocks, and how to design the program’s performance well? I am using the new Xojo framework.

@Sam Rowlands gave me this code:

Dim binaryTextData as new memoryblock( theFile.length) Dim position as Uint64 const chunkSize = 2097152 ts = TextInputStream.Open( file ) while not ts.EOF binaryTextData.stringValue( position, chunkSize ) = ts.read( chunksize ) position = position + chunksize wend ts.Close return binaryTextData.stringValue( 0, binaryTextData.size)

By using Chunks, how could i show the parsing progress (each line) to with a Progressbar?