Graphics.DrawString (leading, tracking, kerning)

Hey guys,

Is there a way to adjust the Leading, Tracking and Kerning before drawing a string on a Graphics object?

In the Apple Developer Documentation, I’ve found something on the Core Text page. Somewhere in the Font Object section, it says about Font Metrics. Those are the parameters that control ascent, descent, leading, cap height, x-height, etc.

So, my guess is that the leading parameters could be set using Declares. Am I right?
But I have no experience in dealing with Declares. I have no clue where to get started :frowning:

Right now I do stuff like that in code: drawing every letter individually and positioning it according to how far I want to have the letters and lines being apart. That is not too efficient, right?
I would like to update my text drawing methods using declares, to help speed things up.

FYI: I make my app primarily for MacOS.

Some links:
Cocoa Text Architecture Guide
UIGraphicsGetCurrentContext()
StackOverflow: Setting line spacing in a CTFrame

1. Drawing each character individually is going to be slow, yes.

2. There is a graphic.characterSpacing property.

3. Yes there are Font properties like you see and you can obtain them via declares.

4. Core Text will give you a lot more control, however it’s a very kettle of fish and in order to render text using Core Text, you must do everything with declares.

I have done some work with CoreText (mainly so that I can draw rotated text), it might take me a while to get something that I can share with you (it’s in an older project).

If you have no experience with Declares, then perhaps the MBS plugin has the functions already coded?

I was kind of hoping that it would be as simple as setting drop shadow or text outline, using a couple of simple declares, that change those settings for a Graphics object.

That would be awesome :slight_smile: