NSVisualEffectView

I try to use NSVisualEffectView…
I use this cose:

dim WindowEffectView as new NSVisualEffectView( 0, 0, 220, 500 )

It always returns the error:

Can't find a type with this name

Do you know why and how I can fix?

NSVisualEffectView is not a native Xojo class.

You need to use a plugin such as Monkeybread http://www.monkeybreadsoftware.net/class-nsvisualeffectviewmbs.shtml or try to write the proper declares to access the native library.

Maybe you tell “NSVisualEffectViewMBS”, I can’t buy this plugin :frowning:

Where I can take a guide of cocoa framework?

These would be the docs, but I’m far from an expert on how to write the declares since I rely on Christian’s plugins.

https://developer.apple.com/documentation/appkit/nsvisualeffectview

You might want to poke around the MacOSLib open source project. I did see the NSVisualEffectView class in there, but I haven’t tried to work with it.

https://github.com/macoslib/macoslib

Thank you Jared! I’ll try.

while plugs-in have there place for some people, this points to the second reason I dislike them.

I’m a single developer working for an enterprise.

I (and the people that rely on my applications) value speed, reliability, and expert support over learning the intricacies of building my own library of declares that get the job done, but are not fully functional.

I’m not sure why you felt the need to call that out in this thread.

Edit: Also, Xojo’s own tagline is “Rapid app development”
We could all be programming in Objective C, Swift, or C#, but we chose Xojo for a reason.
Plugins are fully within that programming philosophy.