OPC Data Client (by OPC Labs)

1. last week

William R

Aug 11 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro

I'm prototyping a connection to an industrial controller for Read/Write of its tags via OPC and looking for feedback from anyone who's done this before. I asked the vendor of the 'OPC Data Client' software I'm going to test out if they'd heard of or used RB/Xojo in the past, and they responded

I have never worked with someone using Xojo before - but as long as it can instantiate and use COM objects - it should be able to work.

I came across them via this link , which lead me to believe this could in fact be a potential solution.

Thanks to anyone who can offer some feedback regarding the area of OPC, using COM objects in this respect, or guidance of any kind.

2. Eugene D

Aug 11 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro Canada scispec.ca

@WilliamReynolds Thanks to anyone who can offer some feedback regarding the area of OPC, using COM objects in this respect, or guidance of any kind.

HI William,

I have not worked with OPC, and have worked with quite a few COM objects in Xojo. If working COM code was developed on Realbasic, then there is a good possibility that it will work with Xojo. Most of the Realbasic code works in Xojo with some few minor adjustments needed.

Although OPC Labs shows a two-line portion of code, setting it up can be quite another issue. Is there a possibility that you can try a demonstration version before paying money for the full COM application?

3. William R

Aug 11 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro