Fixing ContainerControls sample

I’m new to Xojo and I’m watching the webinars and reading the docs. Today I watched ‘Using ContainerControls in a Desktop App’ and loaded the TabbedWebBrowser sample.

The one that came with 2017r1 is much better than the one in the video but one thing bugged me, if I delete a Tab, when I add it again the name change from ‘Untitled’ to whatever name it had before closing.

Let’s say that I open 5 tabs, and number 3 title is Google and the others Untitled. If I remove Google tab I expect to get 4 Untitled tabs, but I get 2 Untitled, then Google (but blank webpage) and another Untitled.

It was a good first exercise to see what the code do and what is happening.

I was able to test some things and finally I think this code is missing from the CloseTab:

mBrowserTabs.Remove(BrowserTabPanel.Value)

I tested it and it works as expected. Is that the right way to do it? Thanks.

I did my tests with the following code in CloseTab method:

BrowserTabPanel.Remove(BrowserTabPanel.Value) mBrowserTabs.Remove(BrowserTabPanel.Value)

I don’t know why it worked as expected. The only way it doesn’t work is when I delete the far right tab first. Whatever title it has is transferred to the next tab (now the far right tab).

As soon as BrowserTabPanel.Remove executes the BrowserTabPanel.Value is lowered by 1.

If I change the code to:

mBrowserTabs.Remove(BrowserTabPanel.Value) BrowserTabPanel.Remove(BrowserTabPanel.Value)

Everything works.

I added an IF statement that check if there is only 1 Tab, that way I can’t clic ‘Close Tab’ when there are none. The app stop running and I get a nice bug icon on the left side of the first line in CloseTab method.

Mac 10.12.6

I installed Xojo2017r11 on a Windows 7 machine, ran the sample and the behavior (tab selected) is different from a Mac.